DISCUSSION FORUMS
MAIN MENU
Home
Help
Advanced Search
Recent Posts
Site Statistics
Who's Online
Forum Rules
Bible Resources
• Bible Study Aids
• Bible Devotionals
• Audio Sermons
Community
• ChristiansUnite Blogs
• Christian Forums
• Facebook Apps
Web Search
• Christian Family Sites
• Top Christian Sites
• Christian RSS Feeds
Family Life
• Christian Finance
• ChristiansUnite KIDS
Shop
• Christian Magazines
• Christian Book Store
Read
• Christian News
• Christian Columns
• Christian Song Lyrics
• Christian Mailing Lists
Connect
• Christian Singles
• Christian Classifieds
Graphics
• Free Christian Clipart
• Christian Wallpaper
Fun Stuff
• Clean Christian Jokes
• Bible Trivia Quiz
• Online Video Games
• Bible Crosswords
Webmasters
• Christian Guestbooks
• Banner Exchange
• Dynamic Content

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter.
Enter your email address:

ChristiansUnite
Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 21, 2017, 06:28:03 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Our Lord Jesus Christ loves you.
277684 Posts in 26446 Topics by 3790 Members
Latest Member: Goodwin
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ChristiansUnite Forums
|-+  Entertainment
| |-+  Computer Hardware and Software (Moderator: admin)
| | |-+  Critical Update for Windows Media Player Script Commands
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Critical Update for Windows Media Player Script Commands  (Read 6173 times)
nChrist
Global Moderator
Gold Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 60389


May God Lead And Guide Us All


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: October 11, 2005, 02:26:01 PM »

Hello BROTHER Chris,

That changes everything - send Bill Gates a Christmas card.

It doesn't sound like you have anything running that would conflict with Windows update. I wish that I knew more about your version of Windows. I do know that the the program that Windows uses to install updates can become corrupted, and it is called the Windows installer. If it will install any Windows update still, it isn't the Windows installer.

By the way, are you saying that the problem is fixed now?  Cheesy  I just read your post again, and it appears that I was still trying to solve a problem that is already solved.

So, whatever it was that you don't know that you did to cause the problem - don't do it again, and things will be fine.  Grin

Love in Christ,
Tom

Psalms 111:2 NASB  Great are the works of the LORD; They are studied by all who delight in them.
Logged

Soldier4Christ
Global Moderator
Gold Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 58538


One Nation Under God


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: October 11, 2005, 03:08:46 PM »

Cris,

I used Millenium for years. My son put a copy of XP on my system and I didn't like it and went back to Millinium. Then when I got a new computer it came with XP already on it. This version is different than the XP my son gave me and I like it so much better. It is not XP pro it is XP home version. It is really better than the Millenium. There are so fewer problems with crashes and other program errors. I don't have to defrag as often either.

I'm glad that you have the problem fixed. I think that I am just as confused as to what happened but at least it is fixed now.



Logged

Joh 9:4  I must work the works of him that sent me, while it is day: the night cometh, when no man can work.
cris
Gold Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1183


I'm a llama!


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: October 11, 2005, 03:44:22 PM »

Hello BROTHER Chris,

That changes everything - send Bill Gates a Christmas card.

It doesn't sound like you have anything running that would conflict with Windows update. I wish that I knew more about your version of Windows. I do know that the the program that Windows uses to install updates can become corrupted, and it is called the Windows installer. If it will install any Windows update still, it isn't the Windows installer.

By the way, are you saying that the problem is fixed now?  Cheesy  I just read your post again, and it appears that I was still trying to solve a problem that is already solved.

So, whatever it was that you don't know that you did to cause the problem - don't do it again, and things will be fine.  Grin

Love in Christ,
Tom

Psalms 111:2 NASB  Great are the works of the LORD; They are studied by all who delight in them.

YOU sign it first!  Grin

I don't KNOW if the problem is fixed.  I was waiting for you guys to tell me.  I think it is.  Probably stopping the automatic updates was helpful.  At least, now it won't continue to update automatically.

OK, whatever it is that I don't know, I'll not remember to remember whatever it is, so that things will be fine.  You're sure that'll work, huh?  Grin  I like confident brothers/sisters!

Windows installer.................if I don't have it, how did I ever install anything from Windows Update?  Where do I get the latest version of Windows installer?

Are you calling the installation of Windows Update Script Commands a "program"?  You forgot to tell me.  Don't make me more confused than I already am! Grin

Oh, and the other question I asked you, those icons at the bottom of my computer screen (tool bar, I guess), can I just leave them there?  You forgot to tell me.

Any comment on my Shields Up question on closing ports?    It's in my 1:12 PM post to DW.

Thanks.

cris







Logged
cris
Gold Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1183


I'm a llama!


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: October 11, 2005, 03:53:12 PM »


PR,

Read my above post to DW and my following post to BEP, okay.

I successfully restored my computer to October 1, 2005.  After doing so, I updated AVG, AdAware, and defragged.  I returned to Windows Update.  Everything looked good.  Seemed to be back to before I downloaded and installed the updates.  I went to "Installation History".  Here's what it said:  If you subsequently restored (ah, what a peaceful word Smiley) your computer, or reinstalled or uninstalled programs, some items listed here MIGHT (a key word) no longer be installed on your computer.  ALL of the previous installs are listed, even though the computer was successfully restored.  Windows DID say that once the "Script Commands" were installed, (at installation time), they could not be removed.  Does this mean they (all 5 of the same ones) are still there, taking up storage room on my computer, even though the system was restored?  Does it matter?  


 



PR...............do you know the answer to any of my questions above?  If you don't, that's okay.  I told ya before, I'm really computer un un unsavvy.  I surprised myself today in being able to do the restoration.  Whoopie!  I patted me on me back!  Finally, I learned something!

I guess my problem must be fixed..............

Thanks
cris




Logged
Soldier4Christ
Global Moderator
Gold Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 58538


One Nation Under God


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: October 11, 2005, 04:02:06 PM »

First I'll cover the things I don't know. Closing ports. I have never had the need to do that so I can't answer that question. My son always took care of that for me when he set up my system.

The icons at the bottom of your screen ..... are these inside the toolbar at the bottom or just above that. If they are in the toolbar are they in the quick access area or the active programs area?

If in the active programs area it will mean those programs are active and will take up more internal memory slowing down your computer. You can exit those that are not needed by left clicking on them and clicking on exit. If they are in the quick access area it doesn't hurt to leave them there.

Windows installer ...... a new copy of that can be received on the Microsoft update web site. If you go to their site and attempt to check for updates their system will automatically check the installer to see if it is a valid copy and should update it automatically if it isn't.

Without actually seeing your computer firsthand I can't be sure that your problem is fixed. You could probably check it by temporarily turning automatic updates back on for a short while. I would go to the updates site first though and do a check for updates function.

In case you don't have it the link is here:

http://update.microsoft.com/windowsupdate/v6/default.aspx?ln=en-us



Logged

Joh 9:4  I must work the works of him that sent me, while it is day: the night cometh, when no man can work.
cris
Gold Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1183


I'm a llama!


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: October 11, 2005, 04:05:41 PM »

Cris,

I used Millenium for years. My son put a copy of XP on my system and I didn't like it and went back to Millinium. Then when I got a new computer it came with XP already on it. This version is different than the XP my son gave me and I like it so much better. It is not XP pro it is XP home version. It is really better than the Millenium. There are so fewer problems with crashes and other program errors. I don't have to defrag as often either.

I'm glad that you have the problem fixed. I think that I am just as confused as to what happened but at least it is fixed now.





That's good to know.  One of these days I'll check out just the XP home version.  I've had enuff for right now! Grin

I really don't mind the defragging 'cause it goes really fast (most times).  I guess it goes fast because I usually do it several times a day.

I would never, ever, have even known where to begin, if you hadn't told me about System restore in the first place.

Mucho gratias..................(I'm not Spanish but that just popped into my head).  Wow, with all the brain work I've done today, I must have opened a new brain pathway, too. Grin Grin  Either that, or, airIam2worship has somehow possessed me. Undecided Grin  She's an undercover highjacker, ya know. Shocked?  I was too.  Wouldn't put anything past that one. hehe










 
« Last Edit: October 11, 2005, 04:12:13 PM by cris » Logged
cris
Gold Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1183


I'm a llama!


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: October 11, 2005, 04:15:33 PM »



My computer is running real slow now.  Everytime I hit the post key, it's taking forever.  I'm going to log out, use adware, ccleaner, and defrag.  Hope I can get back in.


Logged
cris
Gold Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1183


I'm a llama!


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: October 11, 2005, 06:37:15 PM »

First I'll cover the things I don't know. Closing ports. I have never had the need to do that so I can't answer that question. My son always took care of that for me when he set up my system.

The icons at the bottom of your screen ..... are these inside the toolbar at the bottom or just above that. If they are in the toolbar are they in the quick access area or the active programs area?

If in the active programs area it will mean those programs are active and will take up more internal memory slowing down your computer. You can exit those that are not needed by left clicking on them and clicking on exit. If they are in the quick access area it doesn't hurt to leave them there.

Windows installer ...... a new copy of that can be received on the Microsoft update web site. If you go to their site and attempt to check for updates their system will automatically check the installer to see if it is a valid copy and should update it automatically if it isn't.

Without actually seeing your computer firsthand I can't be sure that your problem is fixed. You could probably check it by temporarily turning automatic updates back on for a short while. I would go to the updates site first though and do a check for updates function.

In case you don't have it the link is here:

http://update.microsoft.com/windowsupdate/v6/default.aspx?ln=en-us






Windows installer.................I went to Windows Update and there was nothing new to install.  So, does that mean I already have the most recent Windows installer?  That's question #1.

Toolbar..................the icons are IN the toolbar...........bottom right side, active programs, volume icon, mouse icon, AVG icon, modem on hold icon, email icon, printer icon, and the dial-up speed icon and the time of day.  On the left side are the quick programs, desktop icon, mail icon, W (for WORD) icon, and the shortcut to dial-up icon.

Question #2...........If one had automatic updating, it would be impossible to exit the active programs as one wouldn't really know when they were being installed------sort of.  So, in this case, would not exiting have caused a problem?

Turning automatic update back on.....................well, that's not going to tell me anything because everything was fine when I installed the new Windows Media 9 Codec Package and subsequent Windows Media 9 Series.  All the problems started when Windows said there was a CRITICAL UPDATE for Windows Media Player Script Commands.  I'M ASSUMING THIS UPDATE WAS FOR THE PLAYER 9.  It must have been, otherwise, when I went back to Windows Update, I would have seen the critical script commands update because I have the Player 7 installed.  It would have been an update for ALL the Media Players, but it wasn't there.  If I don't download Player 9, and the subsequent critical script commands, I shouldn't have any further problems because I restored to the point before I installed anything pertaining to WMP9.  But, if I go ahead and download the Codecs and  Player 9, I HAVE to download that critical update for those two.  I just can't NOT critically update because 9 and codecs have security problems.    

OK now, Media Player 7 is installed on my computer but seems to be useless.  For example, when I go to a website, and there's an option to view a presentation (video), I can't view it.  It just doesn't work.  Is there something I need to set that I don't have set?  OK, supposing I wanted to buy a piece of jewelry from www.QVC.com for my spouse (hehe).  (I'll give you an example)............go to www.QVC.com.  In the search window type in J61275 in Jewelry and click on GO.  When page comes up, go to View Presentation........................see what you get from your computer.  Mine just buffers, flashes a white screen, and stops.  I've tried everything they say to do on that site including VIDEO HELP.  So, it's on my end, I guess.  I'm using IE6.  It should work, but it doesn't.  I orginally thought if I installed the new version, it would be the answer, but it hasn't been.
           


Logged
Soldier4Christ
Global Moderator
Gold Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 58538


One Nation Under God


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: October 11, 2005, 07:34:36 PM »

The icons in the toolbar seem fine. I wouldn't change them.

question 1 .... It seems you have all the updates for the programs that you have. There should be no problems there then.

question 2 .... The worse it would have done to exit an active program during automatic updates would be to overload your computer and shut it down. Doing that though may cause partially changed program depending on what part of the install was in progress at the time.


To use the Windows media 9 codec package you must have at the very least Windows Media 7.1 if you have only 7 then it will cause problems. With Windows ME you can use the Windows Media player 9 at the most 10 is for only XP based computers.

Try uninstalling the Windows Media program that you have, run your cleaner then download and install 9 from the following site.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/download/AllDownloads.aspx?displang=en&qstechnology=

Logged

Joh 9:4  I must work the works of him that sent me, while it is day: the night cometh, when no man can work.
cris
Gold Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1183


I'm a llama!


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: October 11, 2005, 08:01:56 PM »

The icons in the toolbar seem fine. I wouldn't change them.

question 1 .... It seems you have all the updates for the programs that you have. There should be no problems there then.

question 2 .... The worse it would have done to exit an active program during automatic updates would be to overload your computer and shut it down. Doing that though may cause partially changed program depending on what part of the install was in progress at the time.


To use the Windows media 9 codec package you must have at the very least Windows Media 7.1 if you have only 7 then it will cause problems. With Windows ME you can use the Windows Media player 9 at the most 10 is for only XP based computers.

Try uninstalling the Windows Media program that you have, run your cleaner then download and install 9 from the following site.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/download/AllDownloads.aspx?displang=en&qstechnology=




I have the 7.0.0.1440 Media Player.  I know the 10 version is for XP only.  I was surprised to see there was even a 10 out.

Did you go to QVC to try it on your computer?

I think I'm terrified of uninstalling the 7 and installing the 9. Grin  Maybe I'll muster up some courage in a few minutes. Grin


Logged
Soldier4Christ
Global Moderator
Gold Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 58538


One Nation Under God


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: October 11, 2005, 08:23:51 PM »

yes, I tried the qvc site and had no problems getting a picture. The video presentation was just a still shot though.

I'm sure that you can handle the uninstall/install just fine. Just make sure that you go to the control panel, then the add/remove program then click on the windows media player then click on the remove button.

Logged

Joh 9:4  I must work the works of him that sent me, while it is day: the night cometh, when no man can work.
cris
Gold Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1183


I'm a llama!


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: October 11, 2005, 09:15:54 PM »

yes, I tried the qvc site and had no problems getting a picture. The video presentation was just a still shot though.

I'm sure that you can handle the uninstall/install just fine. Just make sure that you go to the control panel, then the add/remove program then click on the windows media player then click on the remove button.



Ooh ooh, am I hot under the collar now!!!!!  For 1 solid hour I've tried to find it.  It's not where it's supposed to be.  I went exactly where you told me to go.  I even went there B4 you told me to go there.  I went back and clicked and clicked and clicked on everything that I could.  Windows Media Player is no where to be found, that is, in a place where I can uninstall it.  Media Player is on my desktop.  I right clicked properties and left clicked.  It says I have the 7.0.0.1440 version installed but when I left clicked it, the Player 9 version comes up.  I clicked on help there.  I clicked on any help I could find........to no avail.  Where is the thing?  Where could it even be?  Could it be hidden?  If so, that should be a lot of fun!!!  Right now I think I could do a real good job of playing one or all of the 3 stooges!!!  Oh my, my dander is up.

Logged
Soldier4Christ
Global Moderator
Gold Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 58538


One Nation Under God


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: October 11, 2005, 09:33:32 PM »

Click on start then on search or find (dont' remember how ME has it listed) then type in the word "windows media" in the search window. It should show you where all the files for either are located. Just quessing by what you are saying though it sounds like it is not there and that what you have are partial files. That would explain why it is not working.

Once you have run that search function manually delete each of the windows media players files that show up. Don't delete any other windows media just the player files only. Then run your cleaner to get the stray files.

Then download and install version 9. That should fix it.

Logged

Joh 9:4  I must work the works of him that sent me, while it is day: the night cometh, when no man can work.
cris
Gold Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1183


I'm a llama!


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: October 11, 2005, 10:11:14 PM »

Click on start then on search or find (dont' remember how ME has it listed) then type in the word "windows media" in the search window. It should show you where all the files for either are located. Just quessing by what you are saying though it sounds like it is not there and that what you have are partial files. That would explain why it is not working.

Once you have run that search function manually delete each of the windows media players files that show up. Don't delete any other windows media just the player files only. Then run your cleaner to get the stray files.

Then download and install version 9. That should fix it.




OK....................I did that, however, there was one called Windows Media Player under PROGRAM FILES that will not allow me to delete, because it says that the source file may be in use.  I checked this folder and it's empty.

Before I download Version Player 9, don't I have to download a file first or my system will never restore if I need to do it again?  Look at what DW posted me at 12:44AM (just right after midnight last night).  He said he hoped I downloaded one file before I installed media 9.  I hope you know what he means.  I'm thinking he means I need to install Windows Media 9 Series Codec Install Package FIRST before installing the Media 9 Player Series.  I'm just about positive this is what he means.

Oh, oh, forgot to tell ya.  After I deleted all that, the icon was automatically gone from my desktop, too.





   
« Last Edit: October 11, 2005, 10:26:19 PM by cris » Logged
cris
Gold Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1183


I'm a llama!


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: October 11, 2005, 10:51:05 PM »


Ho hum..............tweedle dee doo, tweedle dee dum!

Sighing and tapping fingers............humming, too. Grin

NO, those phrases do not give away my gender!  Don't even entertain the thought!  You DO NOT know!  Wink



 
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  



More From ChristiansUnite...    About Us | Privacy Policy | | ChristiansUnite.com Site Map | Statement of Beliefs



Copyright © 1999-2016 ChristiansUnite.com. All rights reserved.
Please send your questions, comments, or bug reports to the

Powered by SMF 1.1 RC2 | SMF © 2001-2005, Lewis Media