Webmasters
• Christian Guestbooks
• Banner Exchange
• Dynamic Content

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter.
Enter your email address:

ChristiansUnite
Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 01:19:25 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Our Lord Jesus Christ loves you.
286808 Posts in 27568 Topics by 3790 Members
Latest Member: Goodwin
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ChristiansUnite Forums
|-+  Welcome
| |-+  About You! (Moderator: admin)
| | |-+  Greetings
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Greetings  (Read 2480 times)
Bill

I'm a llama!

View Profile
« on: May 13, 2003, 02:12:28 PM »

Howdy! My name is Bill.  I am a recent college grad and convert to the Catholic faith from Evangelical Protestantism.  The main reason I converted was because of a study of what the Church Fathers taught concerning doctrine and finding out how weak the biblical support for Sola Scriptura and Sola Fide really is.   I've been a Christian for about 5 years and majored in Broadcasting in college.  I wish all of you great blessings in Christ.

Sincerely,
Bill
Symphony
Gold Member

I'm a llama!

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2003, 03:01:49 PM »

Hi, Bill.  Welcome.

You sound like you've already made up your mind.  Certainly "evangelical Christianity" has its problems.  I'm not sure I'm following you on your doctrinal concerns--I'm not very well versed in some of the fine distinctions.

The main concern I have about the Catholic approach, and maybe many also of the Protestant ones, for that matter, is the jurisdiction that is laid on the individual participant.  That is, in the Catholic, it seems  an indivdiual, or a hierarchy, holds an inordinate amount of control and jurisdiction of the individual believer.  Maybe it's a question of degrees.  But for sure, most every congregation, tends towards a spirit of jealousy, over other congregations, regardless of the creed or stripe.