Webmasters
• Christian Guestbooks
• Banner Exchange
• Dynamic Content

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter.
Enter your email address:

ChristiansUnite
Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 14, 2024, 08:19:53 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Our Lord Jesus Christ loves you.
286825 Posts in 27568 Topics by 3790 Members
Latest Member: Goodwin
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ChristiansUnite Forums
|-+  Welcome
| |-+  About You! (Moderator: admin)
| | |-+  Hello. I'm new here.
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Hello. I'm new here.  (Read 1044 times)
heatherchelle_2000

View Profile WWW
« on: March 18, 2008, 03:13:31 PM »

Hello.
My name is Heather.  I'm a 30-something tutor/school assistant from Wisconsin.  I only work part time because I have fibromyalgia and several mental health issues including social phobia.  I was raised in a mostly non-Christian home.  (My dad and stepmom claimed to be Christians, but didn't pray, go to church, etc. and their hypocrisy is the main reason why my three siblings are not Christians.  My mom is an ex-Catholic who left the church because of the cruelty and stupidity of other Christians and has never gone back.)  Some of my friends growing up were Christians.  I started out at a Lutheran college and joined IVCF while I was there.  Some of the people I dealt with were terrific.  Others, not so much.  The leaders of my small group were the type who used prayer like a club, and I was afraid to ask any questions.  I was terrified that they would figure out I wasn't a Christian and didn't belong and then they would pray for me because anyone who disagreed with them was a horrible person going straight to hell.  It took several years to recover from the experience.  I was finally saved by television and radio programs.  I used to watch the 700 Club, which I found to mostly be a money-making machine for Pat Robinson (Donate to the 700 Club and God will make